Gotta be in it to win it

Entries now open for the AGDA Design Awards 2018

It’s that time of year again. The Australian Graphic Design Association’s (AGDA) annual Awards program is on and entries are now open. The Awards recognise the best work in Australia across a wide range of disciplines. They aim to further the discussion about design and to stimulate the creative progress of our industry. They highlight every generation of talent, from students at colleges and universities, through to the long-established leaders of our profession.

In recent years, the entry categories have been tweaked to better represent new and emerging disciplines as well as unique aspects that have arisen from others. With this is mind, AGDA has completely revamped the subcategories for Motion Design, bringing the category into line with the specific standards of that industry. It has also included two subcategories in Packaging Design for alcoholic beverages – one for Boutique and one for Commercial.

AGDA Design Awards trophies
AGDA Design Awards trophies (brown = Distinction; clear = Pinnacle)

To encourage and reflect the value of design to the wider community, Design for Good and Design Effectiveness have been elevated to their own trophy level. Each of these two categories will have a distinct trophy design for the Pinnacle winners to complement the current Distinction trophies in place since 2014.

Submissions will be assessed by an assembly of jurors against the following criteria:

  • Innovative expression of an idea (creativity)
  • Execution of the concept (craft)
  • Relevance to the intended audience (communication).

Entries for the Awards close on August 3rd (although, as in the past, this is likely to be extended for slowpokes). The winners will be announced at a gala presentation dinner in Melbourne on November 10th.

For the full list of entry categories and specific entry requirements (including fees and artwork preparation), head over to the Awards site. Good luck.